Ananthapuramu got its name from „Anantasagaram‟, a big tank, which means “Endless Ocean”. The villages of Anantasagaram and Bukkarayasamudram were constructed by Anantaras Chilkkavodeya, the minister of Bukka-I, a Vijayanagar ruler. Some authorities assert that Anantasagaram was named after Bukka‟s queen, while some contend that it must have been known after Anantarasa Chikkavodeya himself, as Bukka had no queen by that name. Ananthapuramu District was formed in the year 1882 have been separated from Bellary district of Karnataka state. Later on, it was expanded with the addition of Revenue Mandals of Kadiri, Mudigubba, Nallamada, N.P.Kunta, Talupula,Nallacheruvu, O.D.Cheruvu, Tanakal, Amadagur and Gandlapenta (previous Kadiri Taluk) from Y.S.R Kadapa District in the year 1910. During the year 1956,the present Revenue Mandals of Rayadurg, D.Hirehal, Kanekal, Bommanahal and Gummagatta of Bellary District were added to Ananthapuramu District. The District has been divided into 5 Revenue Divisions consists of 63 Revenue Mandals (Ananthapuramu Division-19, Dharmavaram Division-8 and Penukonda Division-13, Kadiri Division-12, Kalyandurgam Division-11).

Re-Structuring/Formation of Sri Satya sai District with head quarters at Puttaparthy as per the Gazette notification No.154 dt 01.02.2022 (G.O.Rt.No.69, Revenue (Land-IV), 1st February, 2022), which consists with 3 Rvenue divisions with 29 Mandals (Kadiri Division- 8, Penukonda Division – 13, Puttaparthy (New) Division-8).